Poem-A Sandy Day Out: By Mohammed Macatof

Something just happens
for once in a life
like a trip to a desert
a day into the sand
with sandy people
singing and dancing
colorful desert girls
with the elderly man
who plays a charming bin.

A delightful camel ride
too far, too far.
If luck permits
a pleasant sun set.

Walking on dunes
falling on it
and trying again.

An evening in a camp
sitting in a mehafil
leaning on pillow
with hot cup of tea
enjoying exotic song
eating spicy food
enjoying exotic dance.

and all of a sudden
a light desert storm.
all you can witness
just in a day
just like me.

So don’t ask me
what’s there to see
into the sea of the sand.
Just make a plan
as quick as you can
a trip to that land
of great Jaisalmer.

I chose this poem, mostly because I like the tone it sets about the dry and arid desert. I also love traveling, and I think, even though I’m not really one for poems, it really is a good one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *